Fit Mommy: Fit is More Than Physical

I love my body.

(Did I just say that out loud? I must be losing my mind, but I’ve said it now so I may as well go with the flow.) 

I love where it was, where it is, and where it will one day be.

Do I love it everyday? No, honestly, I do not. But, I know that today…this morning…this very minute…I love it.

We all have those moments, don’t we? Those moments when we catch ourselves in the mirror admiring how our hard work has paid off. We feel guilty, some of us, for taking those moments because we don’t want to come off as arrogant or self-absorbed. But the truth of the matter is, it takes a self-absorbed person to dedicate him or herself to living a fit lifestyle because that’s not always an easy thing to do.

Everyday that you’re able to drag yourself to the gym or will yourself through a workout, you’re telling your body that you are committed to making it something more than what it is—something better. You are choosing to do the work so that you can be a better version of the person you see in the mirror, not only physically, but mentally too; and that takes a level of commitment that not everyone has the desire to enact.

Some days are harder than others, of course, but once being “fit” is a part of your lifestyle, you can’t disregard your intentions. Every decision you make, both mentally and physically, becomes about your well-being—you are always asking the question: how will doing this effect my body and is it worth it? And if it’s not right for your physical self, it’s not bound to reward your mental/emotional self…and trust me the two are infinitely intertwined.

The psychology of you is changing right along with the physiological one.

My journey, my true journey, towards fit began two-years ago. I’ve experienced the ups and downs, the plateaus, the disappointments, etc., and still continue to find reasons to get up and do something to make what I am even better because I know that I wouldn’t be whole, happy, or complete if I didn’t.

I do it because I love my body…and I know it’s worth it.

Source: google.com via Kimberley on Pinterest

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Fit Mommy: Fit is More Than Physical

  1. Sara Katherine says:

    I think that’s a very healthy mentality! Love you body first and foremost. I think we get caught up sometimes in what we wish we had, what things are wrong, and just general complaints. But every now and then you pass that big mirror on the street, and you just have to admit: “I look good!” I think our minds are 7/10 our biggest enemy!

    Like

    • Kimberley says:

      I agree! So much of our success truly happens between our ears. Having a great attitude and not allowing those inner demons to distract and derail your progress is paramount to keeping our personal fitness goals intact.

      It’s a daily struggle for me, personally, but I always try and remember to keep it simple and on the days that I’m feeling at my “pretty girl rockin” best, I don’t hesitate to let my ego come out and play a little bit 😉

      Like

  2. […] Fit Mommy: Fit is More Than Physical (livingfitmommy.wordpress.com) Share this:MoreLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this. This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged Athletic shoe, Fitness, Gym, Health, Physical exercise, Pinterest, Rapping, Weight loss by Kimberley. Bookmark the permalink. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

