Living Fit Mommy: Willpower Week Begins Now!

Okay, so it’s the week of Thanksgiving and that means only one thing: it’s time to start building some willpower.

As easy as it can be to say ‘no’ to unhealthy food and drinks on a situational basis, the task gets harder with tons of influence around you.

And, I don’t know about y’all, but my family can be relentless during the holidays. It’s as if they all become my personal dealer and all they’re pushing is food, food, and more food!

The arguments I get in defense of their peer pressure is classic passivity mixed with the type of overwhelming aggressiveness that even a small child can see.

Here are just a few of my family’s signature lines:

1. You’re not gonna eat with the family? Surely you can take one day off from your diet!

2. You know, you’re in such great shape, one slice of pie won’t make the slightest difference.

3. Well, isn’t that why you work out in the first place, so you can eat whatever you like?

4. What’s the point of exercising, if you can’t indulge every once and a while?

5. Wow, what a shame, you’re really going to bypass all this great food!

See what I’m dealing with here?

Haha!

Listen, the art of being involved in the family meal without actually becoming a world class turkey myself is something I’ve had to become masterful at over the last few years because my family simply doesn’t get that this isn’t my diet, it’s my lifestyle!

I’m not saying I don’t indulge on occasion, trust me I have my moments, but more times than not, I try to maintain a keen sense of balance and not go overboard simply because someone else thinks I can or should.

Being a ‘Fit Mommy’ is about making good decisions for your body and acting on them daily. It’s not always easy, but my goodness it’s worth it!

20121119-100852.jpg

Leave a Reply

