Living Fit Mommy: With “Fast Food” it’s What You Don’t Know That Hurts You

Take a quick look at the following video, then look for my thoughts after the jump:

http://www.popsugar.com/psvn/embed?video=35936992&width=420&height=340

So, full disclosure: I do eat “Fast Food”. I’m not talking about the McDonald’s (which I loathe), Burger King, or Taco Bell variety, but I do occasionally eat from Chipotle, Chick-Fil-A, or Smoothie King—if I’m treating myself, those are my chosen destinations, just being honest.

Even so, when I “treat” myself, I always try to be aware of calories, carb and fat counts, etc., because I still want to be mindful of what I’m putting into my body. That said, I agree with what she’s basically saying in the video: just because you’re eating “Fast Food” means you’re eating bad food.

Listen, in the absence of options, it’s better to eat smart than flat-out starve. Of course, the better alternative, and one I quite regularly abide by, is to pack a lunch bag (filled with healthy snacks), and take it with you; but I realize there are those who don’t have the time or energy to do such things every time they walk out the door (running late, don’t have enough of the right foods on hand, etc.) and sometimes, well, it’s just easier to have someone hand you a sandwich than it is for you to make it yourself, right?

That said, if you follow the guidelines she makes in the video: stay away from foods that are fried (stick to grilled options), opt for healthy sides (salads or fruits as opposed to fries), load up on veggies as much as possible, and don’t bother too much with condiments (ketchup, mayonnaise, and things of that nature only serve to add fat and calories), then you will do well in keeping the bad calories at bay. However, I want to caution you about one thing, it’s not always the stuff you can see that can be problematic.

A great many of the foods offered at convenience eateries are pre-fab (made elsewhere and shipped frozen) and may contain a lot of additives and preservatives or, even worse, Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s). And while some may not be concerned about such things, it pays to be aware of what you’re putting into your body because, whether you realize it or not, everything you eat matters—both physically and globally.

Again, if you don’t have any other options, do your best to make good choices but, as always, the best choice is always the one that involves your having researched and prepared it yourself.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

