Living Fit Mommy: Ease on Out of The Holidaze

I don’t know about you but, from the time Halloween exited stage left until this very day, I have been on fast forward. Thanksgiving was a blur, Christmas is already a distant memory, and the coming New Year is has become my subtle reminder that it’s time to get down to the business of getting back into the fit groove.

Lucky for me, I managed to maintain a somewhat regular workout routine throughout the holidays—even with a seasonal job cutting into my precious minutes—but a lot of my workout sessions were abbreviated or tailored around an increase in plyometric activity because I needed to get as much bang for my buck as possible; again, time was short and any opportunity I had for getting in the gym was precious. I made the most of every workout because I didn’t want to be sitting here on December 31 talking about the holiday pounds I gained from all the eating and not working out I did.

That said, with the tree already packed away and my focus turning towards new goals (I don’t do resolutions), I am ready to further challenge my mental and physical self to see if I can reach a new level.I still have a long way to go to get to where I want to be and I know I can still build more strength in a few areas.

It’s important to keep yourself motivated this time of year. No matter where you are in your journey, you have to be mindful of what you want for yourself so that you don’t fall victim to complacency or laziness.

So, if you’ve fallen off the proverbial wagon, dust yourself off and get back in the game, and if you’ve stayed on track, pat yourself on the back and then set a new goal to get that much better.

Bottom line: a new year is just a new opportunity to do big things.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

